LSHTM takes central role in national PhD training programme to tackle antimicrobial resistance

In response to the urgent and global threat of antimicrobial resistance (AMR), the Medical Research Foundation (MRF), the charitable foundation of the Medical Research Council, has invested £2.85M in delivering the UK’s first nationwide PhD training programme to focus on this major health challenge.


Projects led by Professor Alison Grant and Dr Clare Chandler at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine will receive two of 18 4-year PhD studentships. The remaining 16 will be held at a range of other universities across the UK. The studentships will encourage work across academic disciplines to explore new ways of tackling the threat to human life posed by AMR.


The MRF’s Programme will fund training courses and cohort building/networking events to benefit up to 200 PhD students studying AMR-related problems from across the UK.


The Programme has been developed in response to a gap in funding for PhD studentships in this field of research – currently there are few emerging researchers trained in the multidisciplinary approach required to tackle the AMR problem. The Programme is designed to help build a strong, active network of new researchers to approach this global challenge in innovative ways.


The PhD training programme leadership comprises 16 academics from 13 universities and research institutes.


The MRF’s Chair, Professor Nicholas Lemoine, said: “The Medical Research Foundation is delighted to be funding the UK’s only national PhD Training Programme in antimicrobial resistance research.  We believe this will help to strengthen the UK’s research capacity to respond to the global health challenge of antimicrobial resistance, including antibiotic resistance and drug-resistant infections.”


The MRF is continuing to seek funds from its supporters and other sources to fund two further cohorts of PhD students in antimicrobial resistance in the future.


The Medical Research Foundation National PhD Training Programme In Antimicrobial Resistance Research:

Training Programme Lead:

Dr Matthew Avison, University of Bristol

Training Programme Leadership Team:

Professor Christopher Dowson, University of Warwick

Dr Mark Holmes, University of Cambridge

Professor David Dockrell, University of Edinburgh

Professor Christoph Wälti, University of Leeds

Dr Andrew Bailey, University of Bristol

Professor Derrick Crook, University of Oxford

Dr Dov Stekel, University of Nottingham

Dr Andrew Singer, NERC Centre for Ecology and Hydrology

Dr Clare Chandler, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Prof Henry Buller, University of Exeter

Dr Charis Marwick, University of Dundee

Prof Andrew Hayward, University College London

Prof Alison Holmes, Imperial College London

Prof Sarah Walker, Nuffield Department of Medicine, Oxford

Prof Alison Grant, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine


All the above mentioned universities will host MRF PhD Students as part of the MRF National PhD Training Programme in AMR.